Systemic Risk Council Announces Five New Members

Today, Systemic Risk Council Chair, Sheila Bair announced the following new members of the Systemic Risk Council:

  • Sharon Bowles, Former Member of European Parliament and Former Chair of the Parliament’s Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee
  • Jan Pieter Krahnen, Chair of Corporate Finance at Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt and Director of the Center for Financial Studies, a non-profit research institution in Frankfurt
  • Lord John McFall, Former Chair, House of Commons Treasury Committee
  • Lord Adair Turner, Former Chair of the U.K. Financial Services Authority and Former Chair of the Financial Stability Board’s Standing Committee on Supervisory and Regulatory Cooperation
  • Nout Wellink, Former Head of the Dutch Central Bank and Former Head of the Bank for International Settlements

Bair said:

“I am honored that these experts have joined the Systemic Risk Council. These strong new voices will not only expand the breadth of our understanding, but strengthen our efforts to address systemic risk and improve the global financial system.”

“We are proud that the Systemic Risk Council now includes so many senior policymakers and financial experts from both sides of the Atlantic.  This is a testament to the group’s work, and to the growing internationalization of financial regulation.”